It’s Been an Emotional Week..

I have been away from the blog lately.  It is starting my really busy time at school.  We are starting a new year of Washington D.C. work, the film festival is about to pick up with the student films due in three weeks and I had the flu B, which kicked me in the rear end!

This was the week before spring break and if you are a student reading this or a teacher reading this, you know that this week is full of excitement and unrestfullness (Is that a word?) The weather this week stunk, it was cold, snowy, then windy and rainy and it was just plain awful.  That never helps when you are coming up to “spring break” right?

It’s Friday and we all made it but I wanted to talk about running into old students from previous years.  On Thursday night, I took Adam to his Ninja World class and as he ran off to do his ninja thing, I ran into an old student of mine from Eagle News last year, Brad and his mom.  Brad was finishing up his pole vault practice. My plan was to drop off Adam and run to the gym to get a quick workout in, but Brad was happy to sit down and talk to me for that hour.

We talked about everything over the past year including some stuff from last year.  I was going to just say hi and move on with my night, but I am so happy that I didn’t.  I learned so much and recollected about last year’s Eagle News class.  I found out what has happened in his life the past nine months and I enjoyed hearing his journey to so many new things in his life.  What I also loved about my time with Brad was the fact that he was still interested in making my program better, he asked about my family and cared about what was going on with me.  That lifted my spirit.  I appreciated my time with Brad and his mom.

IMG_8979

It took me back and made me realize how my time with these kids, all kids, are so precious and so valuable.  It made me realize that I am down to eight weeks with the kids that I have in Eagle News.  After these eight weeks, it will NEVER be the same.  I sat there today with the kids that were at school and I watched them laugh, collaborate, edit video, film video, plan projects, critique final video, dance to “Just Dance”, study for a test, etc.

I love my job and I love the passion that the kids have for their work.  I appreciate all the work that these students, my students, have for the work that I assign them and for the work that I don’t assign them, but they do!  I care about the work that we all do together.

Yes, I am writing this at one of my late night blogs, but we are on spring break…..and this is my first official tear for my students of 2016-17.  Every year I dread the last day of school, it’s the day that makes it real that I will no longer be their teacher.

Enjoy your spring break everyone, it’s officially my 20th and I am going to enjoy it.

 

Leave a comment