Life Means So Much

A short post tonight, another reflection of life.

As a teacher, I have taught to my best abilities so many students.  For 11 years I taught 3rd grade students how to read better, write a story, play #MathFootball and #MathBaseball which was math facts and so much more.  Then I continued my career as a middle school technology teacher where I teach Google Drive, computer programming and Media Production and I love every minute of it.

I am not supposed to out live these students of mine.

I’m having a really hard time wrapping my head around the tragedy that has affected our community again this past week.  6 people in a plane leaving Cleveland lost their lives as the plane crashed somewhere in Lake Erie.  2 of those people, were former students of mine at Scioto Ridge Elementary and Hyatts Middle School.

I am so shocked and don’t know how to really accept what has happened. I knew Megan really well and her family even better. Megan was an amazing kid, such a respectful kid and was destined to have a successful life.  She was doing well at the University of Wisconsin.

I can’t imagine what is going on with the people close to her and her family.  God Bless them, give them all strength.

I will be strong tomorrow as we go back to school, but everything that happens around you, value it, take it in and breathe, reflect, smile, cry and embrace everything.

I was eating lunch at Chipotle today and for the 45 minutes we were sitting there, I ran into 5 former students of mine from “Eagle News” and I let them tell me all about them.  I was so happy to hear about their lives and how it all is going. Then I thought of my family.

I loved coming home and making dinner for my family. I enjoyed hearing about my wife’s day at school. I valued working with EmmeClaire and her HotDots, I loved my time playing with BattleShip with Adam and then watching him read to me “Captain Underpants.”

I am reminded of so many things that make me happy and make me think about what might change at a moments notice.  I called my mom. I needed to hear her voice.

It’s life and it’s tough and I am learning to cope with all that it throws at me.

I am tired, it’s been a long day.  I am sorry for the horrible writing, I really am, I just want to reflect, it helps.

Until there’s more…..

 

One thought on “Life Means So Much

Leave a comment